Pasta With Butter and Cheese (yes, you heard correctly)

I wasn’t supposed to post today.

Tonight was supposed to be leftover night.

Our cupboards are bare. In our refrigerator we have, I kid you not, two eggs and one head of lettuce. We had nearly a shelf full of Chinese food leftovers until one shall-remain-nameless boyfriend of mine decided to eat all of it before I got home from my looooooooong day of day numero three at le new job.

This did not please me.

I was faced with two options: go out and get ingredients or suck it up and work with what very little we had. Thankfully for my (empty) wallet, my inner devil felt the desperate desire to watch my boyfriend drool all over his MSG smothered plate.

So what does one eat when feeling a childish emotion like jealousy and/or hungry rage? If you’re Italian like little ol’ me, it’s pasta with butter and cheese, of course.

Wait wait wait….before you judge…

I’m well aware this post doesn’t deserve an actual recipe, I just needed a forum to post this yummy lookin’ photo:

Plus, if you’re going to eat pasta with butter and cheese, you might as well make the VERY best version there is, right? Exactly!

But since I’m here already, I might as well write out the painfully easy directions that you can probably already do with your eyes closed… but maybe not, who am I to judge? Just in case…

Spiced Confetti Pasta (portioned for one, so double, triple, quadruple as necessary)

  • 1/4 pound confetti spirals (or any other type of pasta, though small pieces work best)
  • 3 tablespoons vegetable stock
  • About 2 tablespoons olive oil
  • 1.5 tablespoons of butter (more is better)
  • Grated Parmesan cheese (to taste…which means A LOT)
  • A generous pinch of each of the following (any combination works, but I’ve starred the ones I think are most important):
    • Basil*
    • Oregano*
    • Onion powder
    • Cumin
    • Mustard seed
    • Garlic powder*
    • Crushed red pepper*
    • Salt
    • Pepper
  1. Bring a small pot of water to a boil and cook the pasta until a little past al dente. Drain and leave in a colander.
  2. In the same pot you used to cook the pasta, combine the butter, olive oil and vegetable stock. Return the pasta to the pot and mix well.
  3. Add the spices and mix well again. Top with a generous amount of parmesan cheese.
The result should be tangy, a tad spicy, slightly buttery and totally delicious. Don’t be afraid to go a little crazy with the spices. The more, the better (at least in my opinion)!
Leave a Reply

