Red Lobster Garlic Cheddar Biscuits

I have never been to Red Lobster, but I have heard far too many people rave endlessly about their garlic cheddar biscuits. Is it just me, or are these things popping up all over the blogosphere lately?

I’ve always been very curious to try these little guys to see what all the fuss is about, but as someone who is shy of anything resembling baking, I never got too serious about it.

That is, of course, until I bought a new app for my Mac called YummySoup! I am SO excited about this app; it’s like one big electronic recipe index where you can store photos alongside your recipes and import tasty finds directly from the web! It’s a food blogger’s dream app!

When I downloaded the app, it came preloaded with a handful of recipes from the web, and of course it came with an easy peasy recipe for Red Lobster’s garlic cheddar biscuits. It was a sign — I had to try them!

When I looked further at the recipe, I knew it was fate — the recipe called for 2 cups of pancake mix, and my roommate had been complaining for weeks that we had way too much pancake mix for a household that doesn’t eat pancakes. Killing two birds with one stone… that’s my kind of recipe!

So I whipped myself a batch of a dozen garlic cheddar biscuits and scarfed down the results…

The verdict? Yum-o!

But to be honest, I’m not that big of a biscuit fan. Don’t get me wrong, these little dudes were pretty awesome, but probably not awesome enough for me to muster up my menial baking skillz to make them on a regular basis. No skin off of my back, though… they were plenty tasty!

I would also like to note that when I took the biscuits out of the oven, I used oven mitts decorated with lobsters. Yep, that’s dedication to the theme right there!

Red Lobster Garlic Cheddar Biscuits (from Gimme Some Oven)

  • 2 cups buttermilk biscuit mix (such as Bisquick or Jiffy)
  • 1 cup grated cheddar cheese
  • 1/2 tsp. garlic powder
  • 2/3 cup milk
  • 2 Tbsp. butter, melted
  • 2 tsp. dried oregano
  • 1/4 tsp. garlic salt
  1. Preheat oven to 400 degrees.  Prepare a baking sheet with cooking spray.
  2. In a large bowl, mix together biscuit mix, cheese and garlic powder.  Add in milk, and stir until well mixed.  (Heads up – the dough will get very sticky!)
  3. With a spoon or with your fingers, shape the dough into biscuit-sized clumps, and drop onto the baking sheet.  (Note that the dough will pretty much hold its shape when baked, so feel free to pat down random peaks in the dough if you’d like them to look more uniform!)
  4. Bake for 10-13 minutes, or until biscuits begin to brown slightly around the edges.
  5. While the biscuits bake, prepare the warm butter mixture by mixing together the melted butter, oregano and garlic salt in a small bowl.  As soon as the biscuits are removed from the oven, brush the biscuits (while they are still on the baking sheet) with the mixture until they are well-coated.
Leave a Reply

