Elotes!

So, I have a confession to make…

I’m a closet blogger.

As in, no one I know in “real life” is aware of the existence of Two Veggies. Well, except le boyfriend, and perhaps my roommate, who may have her suspicions considering all the photography that seems to go on in our kitchen.

I know, I know…poor food blogger form, but I have my reasons — or at least that’s what I tell myself. Maybe it’s part insecurity or part fear, but I think it’s mostly because Two Veggies is my own project, a special piece of myself immortalized online, like a very public diary.

Oh, and I care a lot about what the people in my life think.

Unfortunately, I think I may have blown my cover, and consequently have a friend hot on my tail.

My place of work does a bi-yearly newsletter, which contains a section for new employees to list random interesting facts about themselves. I’m relatively new to the company, so I filled out the “About Me” questionnaire and sent it back a few months ago.

I haven’t given it much thought since then, but a few days ago the newsletter came out. Apparently, I casually mentioned that I blog about food in my free time.

No big deal, right? I figured most people would give it a shrug and forget about it… and that’s what most people did…

Except for one of my co-workers, who latched on and is now on a relentless manhunt to find Two Veggies. I thought perhaps his curiosity would die off after other distractions took over. Newp. It’s been about a month and he’s still pushin’ hard.

So what do I do fellow food bloggies? Should I give it to him or keep it my own? Should I use it as collateral for something big? Is there any merit to keeping something like a food blog all my own? Big questions that need honest answers!

Anyway, the same day that the newsletter came out and the first round of hounding began, aforementioned friend and I had a long, somewhat drunken conversation at a company happy hour about food. He confided in me a dislike for corn on the cob. I asked him if he ever had an elote, because there’s no way that someone who’s been introduced to elotes can ever claim to dislike corn on the cob ever again.

Elotes are a Mexican street food, usually served on a stick, consisting of an ear of corn, butter, mayo, spices and cheese. I was first introduced to them during a trip to San Francisco and I fell in luuuurrrrve.

Besides being amazing enough to eat as a meal on their own (as I did on this occasion), elotes are an easy and tasty alternative to traditional corn on the cob for upcoming spring/summer barbecues and picnics, and they’re oh-so-pretty too!

Elotes

  • 5 ears of corn, roasted, grilled or boiled
  • 1/4 cup melted butter
  • 1/4 cup mayo
  • 2/3 cup finely grated cojito cheese
  • The following spices, combined in a measuring cup and mixed together:
    • 1/2 teaspoon salt (or more, if you prefer)
    • 1 teaspoon paprika
    • 1 teaspoon chile powder
    • 1/2 teaspoon garlic powder
    • 1/2 teaspoon cumin
    • a dash of pepper
    • a dash of cayenne pepper, if you like (be careful! It’s hot!)
  1. Working one ear of corn at a time, use a pastry brush to coat the corn lightly with butter, followed by a thick enough layer of mayo to comfortably hold the spices and cheese.
  2. Using a butter knife, spoon, or clean hands, gently spread enough of the spice mixture across the corn to give it a redish tint. Top with plenty of grated cojito cheese (I like to add another sprinkle of spices after adding the cheese).
  3. Serve immediately.
Leave a Reply

