Apples Galore!

Is it just me, or did mother nature skip over Fall this year? Two weeks ago it was in the upper 70s. Last Monday we turned on the heat in our house for the very first time. Three days ago I dusted off my winter jacket and bundled up with a scarf and gloves.  Yesterday I walked home from a Halloween party in three inches of snow. Today I went to CVS to buy Halloween candy and the Christmas stuff was already overtaking the seasonal aisle.

Is this some sort of joke, mother nature? What happened to fall foliage and sweatshirt weather and crisp evenings that make me want to consume mass amounts of cranberry apple tea? I feel like I’m being robbed of my second favorite season (second only to Christmas season, o’ course!).

Regardless of the weather’s severe lack of cooperation, I’ve been pretty darn proud of the work I’ve put in to appreciate what semblance of Fall has been given to us…

I’ve worn lots of pretty, colorful scarves. I’ve taken long, ambling walks through Beacon Hill, appreciating the “classy” fall decorations. Come Monday, I will have attended three Halloween events… in costume.

But most importantly, I’ve made a concerted effort to consume something pumpkin or apple flavored on a daily basis.

Not that it’s been hard… no sir, not when you have 25 pounds of fresh picked apples like we do! Yep, that’s right, 25 pounds…

Whoever gifted all those apples to my roommate probably thought they were doing something exceptionally nice, but for the past two weeks we’ve been feeling completely overwhelmed with the seemingly bottomless bag of apples on the floor of our kitchen…

We’ve both been packing them every day with lunch. My roommate (a teacher) hands them out liberally to her kids when they’ve forgotten a snack. We made a year’s worth of apple sauce with about 30 apples… and we still have enough apples to pack both of the crisper drawers in our refrigerator.

So last weekend, I decided it was time to bunker down and go to town on our apple supply…

I know what you’re thinking…

Apple pie?

Close…

Apple turnovers!!!

Anyone with half a brain knows that the best part of apple pie is when the crust gets all ooey gooey with apple sugar goodness. Most of the time, when someone cuts me a slice of apple pie, I scoop out the innards and concentrate solely on the warm, gooey crust…

That’s why turnovers are so awesome! They only use an itty bitty spoonful of apple pie filling, surrounded by a big heaping mass of layers upon layers of puff pastry. One turnover is like eating a Laurenized slice of apple pie… all crust, with just a hint of goopiness!

Not to mention, they’re SUPER easy, which is a necessary element of any baking endeavor for me, since I’m severely lacking in baking mojo.

Apple Turnovers (adapted from allrecipies.com)

  • 2 tablespoons lemon juice
  • 4 cups water
  • 4 Granny Smith apples – peeled, cored and sliced
  • 2 tablespoons butter
  • 1 cup brown sugar
  • 1 teaspoon ground cinnamon
  • 1 tablespoon cornstarch
  • 1 tablespoon water
  • 1 (17.25 ounce) package frozen puff pastry sheets, thawed
  • 1 egg, beaten
  1. Combine the lemon and 4 cups water in a large bowl. Place the sliced apples in the water to keep them from browning.
  2. Melt butter in a large skillet over medium heat. Drain water from apples, and place them into the hot skillet. Cook and stir for about 2 minutes. Add brown sugar, and cinnamon, and cook, stirring, for 2 more minutes. Stir together cornstarch and 1 tablespoon water. Pour into the skillet, and mix well. Cook for another minute, or until sauce has thickened. Remove from heat to cool slightly.
  3. Preheat the oven to 400 degrees F (200 degrees C).
  4. Unfold puff pastry sheets, and repair any cracks by pressing them back together. Trim each sheet into a square. Then cut each larger square into 4 smaller squares. Spoon apples onto the center of each squares. Fold over from corner to corner into a triangle shape, and press edges together to seal. Place turnovers on a baking sheet, leaving about 1 inch between them. Brush the top of each pastry with beaten egg and sprinkle lightly with white (or colored!) sugar.
  5. Bake for 25 minutes in the preheated oven, until turnovers are puffed and lightly browned.
One thought on “Apples Galore!

  1. I totally thought it said 25 lbs of fresh pickled apples and i was so grossed out and horrified. phew! Thats how I like my apple pie as well, gooey crust with no apples!

Leave a Reply

